Charles Mingus - Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus Mingus - 1963

     "Having completed what he (and many critics) regarded as his masterwork in The Black Saint and the Sinner Lady, Charles Mingus' next sessions for Impulse found him looking back over a long and fruitful career. Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus, Mingus is sort of a "greatest hits revisited" record, as the bassist revamps or tinkers with some of his best-known works. The titles are altered as well -- "II B.S." is basically "Haitian Fight Song" (this is the version used in the late-'90s car commercial); "Theme for Lester Young" is "Goodbye Pork Pie Hat"; "Better Get Hit in Your Soul" adds a new ending, but just one letter to the title; "Hora Decubitus" is a growling overhaul of "E's Flat Ah's Flat Too"; and "I X Love" modifies "Nouroog," which was part of "Open Letter to Duke." There's also a cover of Duke Ellington's "Mood Indigo," leaving just one new composition, "Celia." Which naturally leads to the question: With the ostensible shortage of ideas, what exactly makes this a significant Mingus effort? The answer is that the 11-piece bands assembled here (slightly different for the two separate recording sessions) are among Mingus' finest, featuring some of the key personnel (Eric Dolphy, pianist Jaki Byard) that would make up the legendary quintet/sextet with which Mingus toured Europe in 1964. And they simply burn, blasting through versions that equal and often surpass the originals -- which is, of course, no small feat. This was Mingus' last major statement for quite some time, and aside from a solo piano album and a series of live recordings from the 1964 tour, also his last album until 1970. It closes out the most productive and significant chapter of his career, and one of the most fertile, inventive hot streaks of any composer in jazz history." - Steve Huey
all tracks written by Charles Mingus, except where noted.
"II B.S." – 4:48
"I X Love" – 7:41
"Celia" – 6:14
"Mood Indigo" (Duke Ellington/Barney Bigard) – 4:45
"Better Get Hit in Yo' Soul" – 6:30
"Theme for Lester Young" – 5:51
"Hora Decubitus" – 4:41
"Freedom" – 5:10 Bonus track on CD reissue
Some editions of this album such as AS-54-B on Impulse Records contains an alternate track listing, which excludes the track "Freedom".
tracks #1 and 4-8, recorded on september 20, 1963:
eddie preston - trumpet
richard williams - trumpet
britt woodman - trombone
don butterfield - tuba
jerome richardson - soprano, baritone saxes, flute
dick hafer - tenor sax, clarinet, flute
booker ervin - tenor sax
eric dolphy - alto sax, flute, bass clarinet
jaki byard - piano
charles mingus - bass, (narration, #8)
walter perkins - drums
tracks #2 and 3, recorded on January 20, 1963:
rolf ericson - trumpet
richard williams - trumpet
quentin jackson - trombone
don butterfield - tuba
jerome richardson - soprano, baritone saxes, flute
dick hafer - tenor sax, flute, oboe
charlie mariano - alto sax
jaki byard - piano
jay berliner - guitar
charles mingus - bass, piano
dannie richmond - drums

rar-password : cazadam.blogspot

Hiç yorum yok:

Yorum Gönder

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...